Governors and Committees

As the educational and training arm of The Council of the Inns of Court (COIC), the The Inns of Court College of Advocacy (ICCA) works with the profession to provide education, leadership, guidance, and coordination in relation to the pursuit of academic and professional excellence for the Bar. The organisation has three key areas of focus:

  • Promotion of the highest standards of advocacy and professional ethics.
  • Development of high-quality educational materials for Bar students, pupils, and barristers at all levels of seniority.
  • Delivery of the ICCA Bar Course, validated by King’s College London.

The work of the College is directed and overseen by an appointed Board of 12 Governors comprising the Chair, Vice-Chairs, one representative from the each of the Inns of Court, a legal academic, a judicial Governor, one lay Governor (professional education) and one lay Governor (finance).

The day-to-day operations are undertaken by a professional team, overseen by the Dean.

Board of Governors

The International Committee

The International Committee brings together senior advocacy trainers from the Inns and Circuits to consider how best to respond to requests for advocacy training overseas. International training takes a ‘seed corn’ approach, helping overseas jurisdictions develop their own advocacy teacher training programmes.

Its role includes prioritising requests, co-ordinating responses and drawing together appropriate teams of trainers, identifying and creating training materials, and seeking additional sources of funding.

Recent overseas training visits have included courses delivered in: Sierra Leone, USA, Poland, Ghana, South Africa and the International Criminal Court at The Hague.

Learn more about the ICCA’s International Advocacy Training

Committees and Boards

  • Finance and Operations Committee – chaired by Adam Constable KC
  • Education Committee – chaired by Dr. Catherine MacKenzie
  • Appeals Committee – chaired by Richard Wright KC
  • Exams Board – chaired by Professor Shelley Heard
  • International Committee – chaired by Christopher Melton KC